Home
entries friends calendar user info LinkedIn Profile Previous Previous Next Next
Thought Stream Catcher - beware of scamsters watching ebay.com

Advertisement

trimtab
[info]trimtab
Add to Memories
Tell a Friend
beware of scamsters watching ebay.com
Bought something on ebay.com.

I get an email from mikedean35@gmail.com to the email address registered on ebay, stating that the payment must be processed outside paypal as ebay has informed him that there's a problem with using his paypal account.
Initially, I trusted this sender because the email came to my official ebay-registered address, which is normally
private (obviously, ebay has a hole somewhere).

Then I get another email from this guy saying that ebay tells him that just one time, they'll offer free protection for this transaction, and that ebay will directly email me with the "steps" to follow. He asked for my address & name so that he can move the processing forward. It felt fishy, but I sent the shipping address anyway.

I get an email from "ebay@safety-trust.com" that looks like an authentic ebay email.. asking me to transfer money to
a guy in Romania!!. (ADRIAN UTA, Street Cocorilor, Rm Valcea 1000, Romania) who is an "ebay agent".
The requested payment method was WESTERN UNION. This made it
fairly obvious that a scam was in progress.

I've reported mikedean35@gmail.com to google.
I wonder if safety-trust.com should be reported, or it was just a random domain name the scamster is abusing.
I don't know how to report the romanian address & name.

Anyway, thought I'd let people know so they don't get bitten by such a scam.

Tags: , , , , ,
Current Mood: annoyed

Comments
From: (Anonymous) Date: July 22nd, 2008 05:03 pm (UTC) (Link)

same here

this guy tried to scam me too. We need to get him somehow. How do you report it to google? Good job on catching on.
From: (Anonymous) Date: July 22nd, 2008 05:08 pm (UTC) (Link)

Re: same here

http://mail.google.com/support/bin/request.py?contact_type=abuse_phishing

report to google at this link
From: (Anonymous) Date: July 26th, 2008 07:47 pm (UTC) (Link)

Re: same here

He scammed me :s is there a way to ensure I get my payment back?
From: (Anonymous) Date: August 7th, 2008 09:37 pm (UTC) (Link)

Me too

This criminal tried to steal me too, but this time using the email michael_vrej@hotmail.com, but fortunately I found this page before. And another guy from Spain tried to take my money on the same ebay sale, thats incredible!! Two guys, one from Romania, other from Spain stoled the same ebay account from the real seller!
This is the information the other guy sent me through the email services@voglermotorsport.com, BEWARE!!!

Full name: Vogler Ray;
Address: Via Hispanidad 83;
City / Zip: Zaragoza, 50012
Country: Spain.
From: (Anonymous) Date: August 10th, 2008 06:09 am (UTC) (Link)
please also forward that email to spoof@ebay.com. apparently this guy has started striking recently. i just got his "request" too. Thank god i didn't fall for it. Ive also seen another person scammed by him last week. ( i googled the email address and saw complaints)
From: (Anonymous) Date: August 10th, 2008 12:39 pm (UTC) (Link)

different email address

Just in the middle of the same thing! same agent but using an email address michael_vrej@hotmail.com! same mails keep coming from ebay@safty-trust whatever. If you look closely when you read the emails you will see that there is a lot of bad spelling and sentence building (don't mind my english, I'm norwegian ;) ).

I also got an email saying that my ebay account was beeing suspended if I didn't pay. Part of the scam I guess?
From: (Anonymous) Date: August 10th, 2008 12:58 pm (UTC) (Link)

Re: different email address

baga-ti pwla'n mata ma:)
From: (Anonymous) Date: September 19th, 2008 06:03 am (UTC) (Link)
Valuable resource of ebay news summaries: http://www.ng2000.com/fw.php?tp=ebay (http://www.ng2000.com/fw.php?tp=ebay)
bytebuster463 From: [info]bytebuster463 Date: September 30th, 2008 12:40 am (UTC) (Link)
Confirmed!

Thank you for your article that I found via Google. Sorry for many details but let Google have higher rating on this posting! Maybe this will help someone else like your article helped me.

Bought an item http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320303912558 from http://myworld.ebay.com/barterextraordinaire

Asked for total delivery cost.
He responded directly via email from Michael Bennie michael_bennie@hotmail.com claiming problems with suspended PayPal account:

Dear Sir,
I'm the seller of the item that you've recently bided through the eBay system.Item number: (320303912558 ) I have to congratulate for your winning bid.Regretfully, immediately after the listing closed I got an email from Paypal and I must advise you that my account has been compromised immediately and my account is locked.So please reply me asap at michael_bennie@hotmail.com so we can clarify this situation
Thank you!


Then asked me to pay via Western Union:

How to make payment?
Locate the nearest Western Union Office.
or pay online to the Western Union to your Credit Debit card to : https://wumt.westernunion.com/WUCOMWEB/staticMid.do?pagename=osMoneyTransferOptions&method=load
Make the payment with cash to our Verified Agent: Ion George Marin .
NOTE: Sending the payment by any other method will void this transaction and your right to refund !
eBay Agent Details :
*You will have send the payment to our eBay & Trust and Safety Agent Details
First Name: Ion George
Last Name: Marin
Address: Street I Gh Duca
City: Rm Valcea
ZIp code: 1000
Country: Romania
NOTE:
Mr. Ion George Marin is our agent assigned for this transaction (he is not the seller) !
Once the payment has been made you must send the payment details:
1. Via e-mail : ebay@safety-trust.com


Then solicited several times to pay using email B.Extraordinaire sbaldwin77@gmail.com promising that my humble account will become


I'm wondering if they have really stolen some fair seller's account?
From: (Anonymous) Date: October 8th, 2008 02:08 am (UTC) (Link)

Same Scheme

Identical thing just happened to us. Same name; same scheme. Curious that after my initial suspicion, I Googled the name Ion George Marin, and learned the Ion Marin is a famous Romanian pianist and composer, and "George" Enescu Academy is where he studied. At least this moron could have selected a pseudonym which wasn't so easily Googlable.
From: (Anonymous) Date: November 10th, 2008 06:52 am (UTC) (Link)

Great purchase

B.Extraordinaire sbaldwin77@gmail.com is legit ebay'er. I just purchased from him and recieved everything as described. Alot of the above is just common sense. If you read his ENTIRE listing page for an item you see that he warns of things just like this.
From: (Anonymous) Date: August 3rd, 2009 07:23 pm (UTC) (Link)

Hellooooooo get a clue

You panzies are getting these spam emails because your ebay name is also your email account name, which makes it pretty easy to contact you. For instance, ebay user: Johndoe456 email: johndoe456@yahoo.com..... duh... get my point. The scammer will send out emails to every domain name until he gets a response from you. Scammer will send to johndoe456@gmail, johndoe456@aol, johndoe456@mac, johndoe456@hotmail. Ofcourse if your ebay name is not the same as your email, then it will be much harder for them to fish your email account through an auction purchase. It's amazing how many people don't use their brain on the internet.
trimtab From: [info]trimtab Date: August 4th, 2009 06:28 am (UTC) (Link)

Re: Hellooooooo get a clue

ok, granted that it was a duh moment. Who doesn't have a duh moment now and then. What makes you so arrogant anyway mr/ms infallible? and do you realize that you're being a coward by remaining anonymous while making nasty comments?.
13 comments or Leave a comment
profile
Tej Arora
User: [info]trimtab
Name: Tej Arora
calendar
Back February 2009
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
page summary
Anonymous same here [+2]
Anonymous Me too
Anonymous (no subject) [+2]
tags

Advertisement

Customize